WOMHER's organization

WOMHER is led by a director and a deputy director who have a project coordinator and advisory management groups as support. The research center also has a board which makes directional decisions on WOMHER’s organizational projects and works toward strategic directions.

Malin Gingnell, Director of WOMHER
Agneta Skoog Svanberg, Deputy director of WOMHER
Shima Momeni, Project coordinator for WOMHER
Linda Ambjörnsson, Communications officer WOMHER


WOMHER's Board decides on the budget, working plan for the coming years and evaluations. The board assess and approve the activities are conducted in accordance with WOMHER's goals. The board includes representatives of Uppsala University's three disciplinary domains, external representatives, and a student representative.
Kerstin Sahlin, chairman of the board
Mathias Hallberg, representing the disciplinary domain of Medicine and Pharmacy
Åsa Konradson Geuken, representing the disciplinary domain of Medicine and Pharmacy
Erik Lindberg, representing the disciplinary domain of Humanities and Social Sciences
Jonas Bergquist, representing the disciplinary domain of Technology and Science
Karin Schulz, member from external organization
Suzanne Osten, member of user organization
Fatih Özel, student representative

Management team

WOMHER's management team is responsible for the center's operational work. The management team is appointed by the director in consultation with the board and consists of people from WOMHER's senior research network. WOMHER's management team today consists of:
Malin Gingnell, Director of WOMHER
Agneta Skoog Svanberg, Deputy director of WOMHER
Shima Momeni, Project coordinator for WOMHER
Alkistis Skalkidou
Inger Sundström Poromaa
Andreas Frick
Erika Comasco
Gabriele Griffin
Ingela Nyström
Pernilla Åsenlöf
Lisa Ekselius, senior rådgivare

International Advisory Board

WOMHERs international Scientific Advisory Board consists of six internationally respected scientists with interdisciplinary expertise in key areas relevant to WOMHER. The Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for offering critique, recommendations, expert advice and guidance for strategic decisions fundamental to accomplishing the mission of WOMHER.

Catherine Monk

Professor of Women’s Mental Health in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Professor of Medical Psychology in the Department of Psychiatry. Columbia University, USA

Gillian Einstein

Professor of Psychology (Cognitive Neuroscience, Gender and Health) and Founder of the Collaborative Specialization in Women’s Health, University of Toronto, CAN

Jasmine Abdulcadir

Obstetrician and Gynecologists, Multidisciplinary clinic for the care of women living with female genital mutilation/cutting, University of Geneva, SWZ and World Health Organization (WHO). UU associated (KBH, SWE)

Kathy Davis

Senior research fellow in the PARIS research program and the Department of Sociology. Sociology, and gender studies, Vrije Universiteit, NL

Markus Heilig

Professor of Psychiatry and director of Center for Social and Affective Neuroscience. Brain processes and long-term neuroadaptations in addiction, Linköping University, SWE

Søren Brunak

Professor of Disease Systems Biology and Professor of Bioinformatics, Department of Systems Biology. AI/machine learning /bioinformatics, University of Copenhagen, DEN

Last modified: 2023-05-26